What are the Pontifical Mission Societies?

These four societies each received the title of "Pontifical" in 1922, and their central administration was transferred to Rome. National offices exist now in more than 120 countries. Today, this family of mission societies is the Church's primary means to inform Catholics about her worldwide missionary work and encourage their active participation in those efforts. The story of the Pontifical Mission Societies began almost two centuries ago -- a story of all of us together, committed to the worldwide mission of Jesus Christ.

Society for the Propagation of the Faith

Missionary Childhood Association

Society of St. Peter Apostle

Missionary Union of Priests and Religious